Home

There is a place that I call home,
though my body no longer dwells there
among the assortments of music and books,
knickknacks and photographs that
spell out a life together.
I am only a visitor now,
every moment a reminder
of what could have been.

Home is no mere house.
It is the song that I keep on singing
because I have never forgotten the words.
Among the clouds, we six
were builders of a more beautiful world.
A structure became a friendship
became a tempestuous love.
I left my heart on those floorboards.

Leave a Reply

