Hold Me Here

It is early morning, the soft purring
of our lovers snores interrupting the silence of the dawn.
The kitchen is dappled in soft slivers of sunlight
and I am a chaos of emotions with a short fuse
ready to be set alight by the least provocation.
Weeping and laughing and laughing and weeping,
drowning in desire with a million thoughts unsaid
clinging to my tongue with unspeakable tenacity.
Where does your skin begin?
Why can’t we just stay here awhile?
Tongue tied in the thickest of tangles,
I will myself to project all that is in my heart
plain and clear, hold me here,
before this moment ends.
But life goes on and so do we,
tentative lovers that we are.

Leave a Reply

